EnglishSvenska




Index Page





Who Are We?


Carl-Henrik's Writings


Jemima's Poetry


Jemima's Stories


Jemima's Pictures


Joke Page


Pigeon Page


Language Class


Elfsyssel




Index Page









EnglishSvenska



Welcome, honored guest, to make my acquaintance! My name is Carl-Henrik Andreas Hammarlund (I also have a huge number of more or less silly nicknames, but I prefer not to use them) and I'm a translator from English (sometimes also Spanish, Danish and Norwegian) to Swedish. Actually, I have a B.A. degree in Translation of Special Languages. I work at a translation agency in the village of Spekeröd, quite close to where I live.
I'm married to a beautiful, sweet, cute and absolutely gorgeous woman named Jemima. I love her very much and pleasantly enough she seems to love me too. Together we have an adorable little son, Isak, an equally adorable little daughter, Lydia, and likewise another adorable son, Adam.


My Personality

My interests are many. First of all I like to write - I have written a few novels which I unfortunately have not managed to have published yet, but I still keep on trying... You can't write if you don't read, of course, and I read quite a lot (almost any genre, but Stephen King is my favorite author) although certainly not as much as my fast-reading wife.
I'm also very interested in music, listening (ABBA, Vangelis, The Beatles, Iona, Dire Straits and many more) as well as writing and composing my own songs. And although my family-in-law doesn't seem to agree with me, I find sports very fun and nice to watch. I especially like soccer and ice hockey, but also athletics, skiing, bandy, handball and curling (my interest for the latter is a result of the fact that I have spent one year in Canada).
One thing that I do appreciate is sleeping (I'm one of those who prefer to stay in bed in the morning) and I also have a passion for travelling. Among the places I'd like to visit some day are Easter Island, the savannas of Kenya, the holy city of Machu Picchu in Peru, Bangkok, Iceland, Rio de Janeiro, Tibet, the Spanish medieval city of Toledo, and the Scottish Highlands.
Apart from this I have quite a lot of other silly interests and qualities. For example I like everything that has to do with languages - even phonetics and grammar! - as well as geography and maps (I hate not to know where I am), trains and railroads, timetables, hedgehogs, boats, chewing gum, flags, interpretation of dreams, beautiful views, cheezies, boardgames, cooking, church buildings, wine (I'd like to be one of those professional wine experts), "whodunnit" detective novels, Tintin, toast, the Eurovision Song Contest, encyclopedias, and liturgy (the more incense the better).
The two last things you should know about me are that I'm 50 % Finlandish - I have a bunch of relatives in the Swedish-speaking areas of southern Finland and I'm a keen supporter of that obscure culture - and that I dislike cars so much that I did not take my driver's licence until the age of 25 (after I realised that it is good to have a licence in those rural areas where I now live).


My History

And now, time for a little history lesson about the life I've lead so far.
I was born March 30, 1978, in the city of Kalmar at the south-east coast of Sweden, in the province of Småland (see map). When I was almost three years old my family moved from there to Vetlanda, a small town in the inlands of Småland. Just about one year later we moved again, to a village called Ekenässjön, right outside Vetlanda. And when I was ten years old we moved to Landsbro, yet another little village in those areas. Landsbro is the place I usually say I'm from.
After graduating from school in 1997 I moved to Göteborg to study musicology. I spent one year there, and then I went to Canada to work for one year in an Anglican parish before I returned to Göteborg to start the language studies which I completed in the summer of 2004. Shortly after I started working as a teacher, a profession which I tried in two different junior high schools until the autumn of 2005, when I quit, having realized that this really wasn't my kind of work. The years 2006 and 2007 were mostly a life of unemployment and parental leave, alternating, until I got the translator's job which I now have.
It was during my time in Göteborg that I met Jemima. In June 2001 we moved to her dream house in Lilla Askerön (which is actually my dream house as well). September 10, 2003, we got our first child, Isak, and he was followed by Lydia, January 28, 2005. The collection was completed with Adam, October 11, 2006.


About My Family:

As I mentioned, my wife is named Jemima. She's a Biologist, she's simply a wonderful person and it's a pleasure being married to her. I don't need to say more.

As I also mentioned, my oldest son is named Isak. He's a wonderful little boy and one of the three prettiest children ever born, if you ask me. He's a very cheerful and talkative child who reads all kinds of books, plays games on the computer and often bursts out into an incredibly charming laughter.

My daughter is named Lydia and she's the second of the three prettiest children ever born... She's a resolute, glitter-eyed lady with a love for big and small animals and an astonishing talent for drawing.

My youngest son is named Adam and he is, not surprisingly, the third of those three prettiest children ever. He learns more and more words all the time, he is active and inventive with an eagerness to explore everything - and he's incredibly beautiful, really making your heart melt!

Besides, I have a father, a stepmother, a brother, a sister-in-law, a sister, a brother-in-law, two nephews, a niece, a brother, not to mention all the people in my wife's family... Finally I have a mother sadly not alive, although we honor her memory.



Basic Facts About Me:


  • Name: Carl-Henrik Andreas Hammarlund
  • Date and time of birth: March 30, 1978, 10.45 p.m.
  • Hair: Dark brown
  • Eyes: Blue (with contact lenses)
  • Length: 1.84 m (6'0")
  • Weight: about 75 kg (165 lb)
  • Favorite song: "Rockin' back inside my heart", Julee Cruise
  • Favorite album: "Spiral", Vangelis
  • Favorite pop group: ABBA
  • Favorite hymn: 153 in the Swedish Hymnal "Livet vann, dess namn är Jesus" ("Jesus Christ is ris'n today")
  • Favorite author: Stephen King
  • Favorite book: "The Hitch Hiker's Guide To The Galaxy", Douglas Adams
  • Favorite poem: "The Raven", Edgar Allan Poe
  • Favorite cartoon character: Tintin
  • Favorite magazine: Trots Allt
  • Favorite actor (Swedish): Robert Gustafsson
  • Favorite actor (foreign): Gerard Depardieu and Tom Hanks
  • Favorite movie: "Forrest Gump"
  • Favorite TV show: "Sen kväll med Luuk"
  • Favorite boardgame: Mah Jongg
  • Favorite ice hockey team: Brynäs IF and Boro/Vetlanda HC
  • Favorite soccer team: Kalmar FF
  • Favorite bandy team: Vetlanda BK
  • Favorite color: Yellow
  • Favorite outfit: Black jeans and knitted sweater
  • Favorite food: Kroppkakor (strange Swedish dish, it's like potato dumplings filled with chopped spiced pork)
  • Favorite drink: Milk
  • Favorite candy: Omar Kermakaramelli (a Finnish kind of fudge)
  • Favorite ice cream: GB Sandwich
  • Favorite fruit: Orange
  • Favorite spice: Cardamom
  • Favorite season: Summer
  • Favorite month: July
  • Favorite animal: Hedgehog
  • Favorite flower: Lily-of-the-valley
  • Favorite city (in Sweden): Visby
  • Favorite city (universal): Paris
  • Favorite country (except Sweden): Finland
  • Favorite name (boys): Andreas
  • Favorite name (girls): Rebecka
  • Favorite Bible character: Peter and Andrew
  • Favorite Bible book: The Psalms
  • Favorite school subject: Psychology
  • Favorite language: Latin
  • Favorite transportation: Train





  • I've had guests since June 2, 2004! The page was founded August 20, 2001.



    [Return to the Page About Us]



    Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you; not as the world giveth, give I unto you.
    Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

    (John 14:27)




    2001-2006 Jemima & Carl-Henrik Hammarlund. All rights reserved.